top of page
Search

The Post that Unintentionally Launched a Campaign

Updated: Jul 21, 2021


About one month ago, I wrote a heartfelt post about how we need a public pool in Gig Harbor. It was not a combative or angry post, but one of genuine concern and observation of a great need in our town. I was hoping to connect with a few people who would be willing to listen about this need, but little did I know just how many people would be willing to listen.


I watched as my phone "dinged" with alert after alert about friends sharing or commenting on my post. I felt so encouraged, validated, and yet sad reading my friends' stories and comments. An overall feeling of "where can I take my kids to learn how to swim??" was felt. "This should not be" I kept thinking. We have to DO something about this!


I'll never forget Sarah Stancikas immediately reached out to me after reading my post: "All-in, whatever needs to be done, count me in!!" she said. I was SO THANKFUL for her help!! Two are SO much better than one, especially since this idea was growing so fast.


We started a small group of moms who also reached out to us after reading the post, but it quickly became a. reality that too many people wanted "in" to our little core group!!


Sarah and I launched the Swim Safe Gig Harbor group on Facebook and watched with jaws dropped as person after person joined the group. 100 members. 200 members. 300 members!!! And it kept growing.


One month later, almost 750 people have joined our campaign to spread the word about the need for a public aquatic center in Gig Harbor, and we really believe we can will see this dream come true. Watching our community rally around this need in caring, respectful, tactful ways is one of the coolest things I've been part of. No doubt this process will be a long haul, but friends, if you are reading this.... we can do it! If we play the long-game, pace ourselves, and are persistent in speaking for this need, then there will be a day when we will walk together through the doors of a public Gig Harbor Aquatic Center!



Every time I think about my own kids in the water, my energy and passion for this campaign is refueled. I think about them laughing while I launch them into a pool or doing cannonballs or splashing around. There is such a wonderful, innocent joy in swimming that all should have affordable, safe access to. Kids should be given the opportunities to know how to swim confidently, and to always carry that joy with them of being in the water. The water safety and water recreation needs of our quickly growing maritime city call for our community to rise up and speak for this great

need for our town. We can do this, Gig Harbor!!







19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Trust the process…..

“Trust the process. Your time is coming. Just do the work and the results will handle themselves.” Life is ever changing and evolving around us and as winter changes into spring, and spring evolves in

6 Months

“Let it be hard. Let it be scary. And then do it anyway.” 6 months ago I didn’t know who sat on the PenMet Parks Board. 6 months ago I paid little attention to who sat on city council. 6 months ago al

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page